“Becoming Normal”

For a dozen years or so I believed I was different. For the wrong reasons.

Many children dreamed of being firemen or princesses. I however, dreamed of being normal (and a Pokémon trainer).

I trudged through my Janis Ian phase of insecurity, low-self esteem, lonliness, heart break, bereavement, fear and poor self-image, I had grown and survived.

I learned the truth at seventeen that people can change for the better. And that’s what happened to me.

Upon my twentieth year, I learned that I was not alone. I learned that deep down inside all of us, we feel lost, sad, angry and scared like children. We all have problems, faults, disabilities, scars.

Perhaps I was always normal after all.

 

Leave a Reply

